PrimeFaces Form Controls Unleashed

PrimeFaces 3.0 development is going full throttle and just one of the highlights of 3.0, Form Controls are unleashed. First part of the controls, inputText and inputTextarea shipped with 2.2 and we have completed the beta implementations of the rest now. PrimeFaces now extends all of the standard form controls with theme integration and other features;

Demos

Demos of these components are available at PrimeFaces Labs Showcase. Don’t forget to check them out with different themes.

Sum up

I’m quite a fan of these new components and really enjoyed creating them. We now go back to 2.x for the next week’s 2.2.1 maintenance release and return to 3.0 development next week.

15 Responses to PrimeFaces Form Controls Unleashed

  1. I’m a fan of those new components too and the seem to be stable.

    Any chance to include them into PF 2.2.1?

    Stephan

  2. Ryan says:

    Good Work. The new components look great.

  3. @Stephan thanks but I think 3.0 is better for these stuff. 2.2.1 branch is created for maintenance only.

  4. Will the maintenance in 2.2.1 committed to the 3.0 branch as well? So ones 2.2.1 is out I could try to use PF 3.0 SNAPSHOT in production.

  5. Weslley says:

    Very good, but I found some errors and have suggestions, post where?

  6. Sure, fixes go into both 2.2.1 and 3.0, only new stuff goes in 3.0.

  7. Weslley, you can use PrimeFaces forum to provide feedback on these beta implementations.

  8. bitec says:

    Ohhh, I’m really impressed by your speed and effectiveness!! It’s only 3 weeks passed since I started using PF with JSF 2.0 (previously there were 2 years with RF, Seam and JSF 1.2), but I’m really excited to see so many results during these 3 weeks! Great work guys!

  9. Pitutos says:

    Nice one!!! It would be nice too the same integration with the h:inputSecret don’t you think?

  10. Illya says:

    Hello,
    How can I make autocomplete control looks like other JSF components (remove styling). After update my forms look very inconsistent.

    Thank you in advance.

  11. brazzy says:

    I don’t want to be negative, and this may be colored by the needs of my project, but I think that instead of adding new features to Primefaces, it would be better to put more effort into fixing the numerous bugs in the existing components. I’m using many of the advanced features of datatable and run into a lot of nasty bugs, especially when combining them.

  12. Jorge says:

    amazing work, congratulations. If you want more ideas for the Datagrid control go to DevExpress.com. their components are amazing but for .NET :-((. I would like to have some of them in Java. To see some of the ideas go to http://demos.devexpress.com/ASPxGridViewDemos/

  13. Pitutos says:

    @cagataycivici haha that dumb I am, recently I see

  14. MikeK says:

    Is there any plan to have an option to turn Theme styles off for input controls?

    If there is not it will be very difficult to use PrimeFaces with other components including standard JSF components. I realize we can overide the styles but that means we need to apply a style to all form controls in the application.

    They do look really nice but it will be inconsistent with other components.