JSF vs Wicket, Job Opportunities

I was playing with indeed.com job trends stuff to see what’s hot nowadays. One head-to-head comparison showed an interesting result, it’s the comparison of JSF and Wicket job opportunities, as seen in the graph JSF is by far the winner. A friend of mine commented on this with “The only people talking about wicket are it’s developers:)”.

I really like working with JSF but I’m not an anti-wicket guy(although I don’t like the fact that I have to do things twice both in html&java code behind). But I gotta ask this question? As developers we have to update ourselves regularly on new stuff but is wicket really worth our time?

jobgraph.png

7 Responses to JSF vs Wicket, Job Opportunities

  1. manrave says:

    Yep, you gott 2 things right:

    – the only people talking about wicket are it’s developers
    – it’s not really worth our time

    And here’s a third fact:
    – Their devs like to troll

  2. I think that it would be pretty naive to think that Wicket would be in much of a different market share position than this indicates. The marketing behind JSF is fairly high volume. Wicket does have a small user base, and believe it or not, most of its users are not core developers. 🙂

    As to whether it is worth your time, that really just depends on what you are trying to do. I tend to use it for personal projects where I do all of the development and I can pick a framework based purely on which one is the most fun to code in. But if you are picking a framework to learn based on what will make your resume more marketable, Wicket certainly isn’t the first choice.

    I don’t really buy the idea that their devs troll any more than any other group. I haven’t really seen trolling from them, and they’ve all been quite nice even when I have had negative things to say about the framework.

  3. swaroop belur says:

    >> “As developers we have to update ourselves regularly on new stuff but is wicket really worth our time?”

    Please have a look at how easy it is to work with wicket.An example is custom components.
    I just finished working on a wicket project(now live) over the last one year. Believe me,
    it was really fun and enjoyable to work with. Regarding its popularity, one can make a smart
    guess by looking at the traffic in wicket forums. There can be various factors behind
    job trends for a particular technology.To brand wicket with statements like the ones u have mentioned is just incorrect. On the basis of what you have mentioned,I believe one should simply
    stick to struts rather than JSF -:)

    I even learnt JSF to see whether it was worth the effort. I am not sure whether I chose the wrong book or not. BUT reading custom component development from Complete Reference- it was really shocking to see the difficulty one has to go through to develop own components.

    I can even say that developing in Wicket has improved my OO skills.

  4. cagataycivici says:

    @Swaroop, developing custom components is a piece of cake in JSF, see this post, it takes around 5 minutes to create an input slider.

    https://cagataycivici.wordpress.com/2007/03/19/create_a_jsf_slider_in/

  5. Pingback: JSF vs Wicket, Job Opportunities « Cagatay Civici’s Weblog

  6. Shirish says:

    I think that its quite unfair to criticise Wicket just on the basis of job trends in the market.
    Looking at the forums and the articles published daily on wicket it seems that its getting quite a bit of attention due to is RAD capabilites. Wicket also provides out of the box AJAX components. Its also very easy to extend existing functionality of the existing components.

    Features like URL encryption, out of box AJAX, integration with other libraries like Scriptaculous, Prototype and frameworks like DOJO, Spring etc reflects the framework is designed to meet the needs of a common developer.

  7. Kemal Ediz says:

    I’ve been using jsf for more than 3 years, and I like the way of JSF while developing pages. In JSF, you can also create pages from Java by using component objects.

    I’ve read some articles and small examples for Wicket. It resembles the way that JSF creates pages from Java code. And as I saw, JSF is much more mature and strong than Wicket because of the variety of implementors and component libraries.

    But I must admit that in your article, the diagram shows the time range that JSF was popular. Of course, at these times, JSF was beating Wicket.

    Nowadays, Wicket seems popular and in your diagram, this year’s job opportunities are not seen. And in the diagram, it seems that, the opportunities are falling down at the end of 2007 but wicket’s opportunities are increasing. If you can again find out comparison of the opportunities and publish them, it will be good.

